Monastery National School Ardee

Go to content

Main menu:


Activities > Green

Green Schools

Environmental Committee 2013-2014

Environmental Committee Members 2011–2012

1st Class Eamonn Finlay & Noah Coyle
2nd Class
Ciarán Baylon & Daniel Dunne
3rd Class
Alexksa Vujovic & David Quan Ooi
4th Class
Tom Jackson & Owen Corrigian-Clarke
5th Class
Barry Cousins & Eddie Quan Ooi
6th Class
James Mc Donald & Conor Gillespie

Chairperson James Mc Donald
Conor Gillespie
Eddie Quan Ooi
Barry Cousins

Our environmental committee 2011-2012 is currently working on our action plan for Biodiversity in order to get our 6th Green Flag.

In 2010 Monastery School was awarded its fifth Green flag by An Taisce. This new flag was a renewal awarded for the schools efforts in maintaining the standards set for our first four flags. This inlcuded;

  • 1st Flag - Litter and Waste
  • 2nd Flag - Energy
  • 3rd Flag - Water
  • 4th Flag - Transport
  • 5th Flag - Maintaining all of the above
  • 6th Flag - Biodiversity (currently working towards this flag)

The school’s environmental committee 2009/2010 pictured right, under the guidance of teachers Leanna Cusack and Lesha Loughran collected, recorded and interpreted data regarding the various modes of transport used by the pupils as they travelled to and from school. A great effort was subsequently made by the committee to ensure that as many pupils as possible used modes of transport which were environmentally friendly, such as walking and cycling. A daily record of the form of transport used by each pupil was recorded with the highest achieving class receiving the “Golden Boot” award each month.

The Pupils have benefited from an increased awareness of the need for environmental protection together with the health benefits accruing from the project.

Home | About Us | Parents | Payments | Activities | Gallery | Curriculum | Sport | Site Map

Back to content | Back to main menu